Author Interview: Peter King and the Changels series

Matthew Wright

I had lunch the other day with Peter King, author of the Changels series – a soaring sci-fi YA trilogy that, at 600,000 words, tops The Lord Of The Rings for scale.

I met Peter over 30 years ago when we were both in the Victoria University Drama Club. Peter’s just released the second edition of his trilogy – which he wrote mostly on his phone while rattling back and forth on the creaking Wellington commuter train network. I asked him how it went.

Peter: Being the main breadwinner means that writing has to fit in with my life. Changels had to be written around a full-time job and a new baby. The funny thing was that I was way more productive than when I was younger with heaps of time to stare at a blinking cursor. I guess it just proves the old adage that if you want something…

View original post 1,339 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

